Home » Speakers

Speakers

Our next news:rewired takes place on Wednesday 23 July 2014 at MSN HQ in London (Cardinal Place, 100 Victoria Street, London, SW1E 5JL).

We’ll be adding speaker details soon.

********

In the meantime, you can still see the speaker line-up from our last news:rewired conference, which took place on Thursday 20 February.

The speakers, organised by session, were:

Keynote speech

Jack Shepherd newsrw picJack Shepherd, editorial director, BuzzFeed, @expresident

 

 

 

Social media: Judgement and shareability

Mark Frankel picMark Frankel, assistant editor of social news, BBC, @markfrankel29
jennyrigbyc4newsJennifer Rigby, social media and special projects producer, Channel 4 News, @jriggers
Paul Rowland headshotPaul Rowland, head of web, Media Wales, @paulrowland1
Jack Shepherd newsrw picJack Shepherd, editorial director, BuzzFeed, @expresident

 

 

 

Sponsor presentation

frederik_neusFrederik Neus, co-founder, Zentrick, @FrederikNeus

 

 

 

A: Data journalism on a budget

54B6ED09E23C4341 8761E65F88C30A40Esa Mäkinen, news editor of data journalism, Helsingin Sanomat, @EsaMakinen
David Ottewell headshotDavid Ottewell, head of data journalism, Trinity Mirror, @davidottewell
Maxime Marbouef picMaxime Marboeuf, data analyst, Tableau Software, @mmarboeuf
By danxoneil on Flickr. Some rights reserved.Dan Sinker, director, Knight-Mozilla OpenNews, @dansinker (image by By danxoneil on Flickr. Some rights reserved).

 

 

 

B: Conversations with the audience

Sarah laitner photo for News RewiredSarah Laitner, communities editor, Financial Times, @sarahlaitner
Marjaana ToiminenDE9B0728Marjaana Toiminen, chief executive, Bonnier Publications, @Sarimarjaana
Laura Oliver,Laura Oliver, social and community editor, UK, the Guardian, @LauraOliver

 

 

 

A: Instagram for news

hannahwaldram_headshotHannah Waldram, community manager, EMEA, Instagram, @hrwaldram

 

 

 

B: Online security for journalists

Daniel Cuthbert headshotDaniel Cuthbert, chief operating officer, SensePost, @dcuthbert

 

 

 

A: Short-form video

mattdanzico headshotMatt Danzico, head of BBC Innovation Lab, BBC, @mattdanzico
Kamali Melbourne headshotKamali Melbourne, online video producer, Channel 4 News, @kamalic4
Peter Winfield headshotPeter Winfield, videographic director, the Economist, @HoveRam
Michael Downing headshotMichael Downing, chief executive, Tout, @michaeldowning
Anna Doble, head of online, Channel 4 News, @annadoble

 

B: Immersive storytelling and production

Joseph Stashko headshotJoseph Stashko, digital news development editor, The Times & Sunday Times, @josephstash
ben fogarty newsrwBen Fogarty, chief executive, Shorthand, @buckarty
john crowley headshotJohn Crowley, digital editor, WSJ.com, @mrjohncrowley

 

 

 

The digital journalist’s toolbox

Nick Summers headshotNick Summers, reporter, The Next Web, @nisummers
Nick Garnett photoNick Garnett, North of England correspondent and mobile reporting expert, BBC Radio 5 Live, @nicholasgarnett
James Headshot speakerJames Neufeld, founder and chief executive, SAM, an online social asset management platform for news and media professionals, @Jamesaneufeld

 

 

Sponsor presentation

Nick Walter OnePulse Head ShotNick Walter, chief marketing office, OnePulse, @NickWalter23

 

 

 

Emerging opportunities in digital journalism

David Ho headshotDavid Ho, editor, mobile, tablets and emerging technology, Wall Street Journal, @DavidHo

Peter-BalePeter Bale, general manager and vice president, digital, CNN International, @PeterBaleCNN
Alison Gow headshot newsrwAlison Gow, editor, digital innovation team, Trinity Mirror, @alisongow
Robin WautersRobin Wauters, founding editor, Tech.eu, @robinwauters
Liz Heron, editor, emerging media, Wall Street Journal, @lheron
Moderators:

Andy Dickinson headshotAndy Dickinson, senior lecturer, School of Journalism and Digital Communication, University of Central Lancashire, @digidickinson

Benji Lanyado headshotBenji Lanyado, founder of Picfair and former digital producer Guardian/NYT, @benjilanyado
LouisaPeacock02.jpgLouisa Peacock, deputy women’s editor, Daily and Sunday Telegraph, @louisapeacock
Darren Waters headshotDarren Waters, acting editor-in-chief, MSN+Bing Apps, AMP UK, Microsoft, @darrenwaters
Kathryn Corrick headshotKathryn Corrick, head of training and digital engagement, Open Data Institute, @kcorrick
Sue Llewellyn pic newsrwSue Llewellyn, co-founder, Ultra Social, @suellewellyn

 

 

 

Testimonials

Past news:rewired delegates share their thoughts on our previous digital journalism conferences:

“I left with a very useful overview of trends taking place in news organisations today” - Blaise Grimes-Vlort, eModeration

“If time is money, this was time well spent”Mike Best, Leeds Trinity University

“news:rewired is a must for anyone wanting to stay up-to-date with the latest and greatest media news, tools and apps”Abigail Edge, MNA Media

“Great opportunity to rub shoulders with some of the leading innovators in journalism and to learn a thing or two”Lawrence Havelock, Bridging & Commercial

“The place to find tools, techniques and inspiration”Rohan Jayasekera, Vivartz